Oce­ans amidst Sci­ence, Inno­va­ti­on and Society


YOU­MA­RES 2 suc­cess­ful­ly took place in Bre­mer­ha­ven from 7th – 9th of Sep­tem­ber, 2011 at the won­der­ful loca­ti­on of our co-ope­ra­ti­on part­ner Deut­sches Schif­fahrts­mu­se­um. It was a gre­at suc­cess: about 130 par­ti­ci­pants from 11 nati­ons took part and enjoy­ed dif­fe­rent con­fe­rence ses­si­ons and various work­shops and most of all: for the first time the net­work mee­ting had it offi­cial name: YOU­MA­RES = YOUng MAri­ne RESe­ar­chers. Prod. Dr. Dr. Hem­pel and Cor­ne­lia Nau­en fasci­na­ted with gre­at key­note talks.


As a long time sup­por­ter, SPRIN­GER spon­so­red awards for the three best pos­ter and oral presentations:

Best Pos­ters

  1. inter­na­tio­nal: Ant­je Funcke, Uni­ver­si­tät Utrecht
  1. Ger­man: Annet­te Bom­bosch, AWI, Bremerhaven
  2. Ger­man: Pos­ter­preis: Alex­an­der Wolf, ZMT, Bremen
  3. Ger­man: Pos­ter­preis: Sebas­ti­an Gras­horn, ICBM, Oldenburg

Best Oral Pre­sen­ta­ti­ons of each Session

  1. Ses­si­on: Mar­le­ne Wall, Bremerhaven
  2. Ses­si­on: Mei­ke Dem­gen, Hamburg
  3. Ses­si­on: Kath­le­en Schwer­dt­ner-Manez, Bremen
  4. Ses­si­on: Deb­ta­nu Bar­man, Belgien
  5. Ses­si­on: Björn Suc­k­ow, Bremerhaven
  6. Ses­si­on: Ruth Fle­rus, Bremerhaven

The win­ners were awar­ded book vou­chers and small gifts from Springer.

YOU­MA­RES 2 Sessions:

  1. DSM Human impacts on the oce­ans and sub­se­quent envi­ron­men­tal responses
    Ses­si­on chairs: Han­nah Bro­cke (ZMT Bre­men) and Clau­dia Frey (IO-Warnemünde)
  2. Remo­te Sen­sing: Hig­her orbits for deeper understanding
    Ses­si­on chair: Grit Frei­wald (AWI)
  3. Aquacul­tu­re: Main rese­arch prio­ri­ties to ful­fill our need for sus­tainab­le seafood
    Ses­si­on chair: Ste­fan Mey­er (GMA Büsum), spon­so­red by Evo­nik Degus­sa GmbH
  4. Living with the Sea: Coas­tal live­li­hoods and management
    Ses­si­on chair: Sebas­ti­an Fer­se (ZMT)
  5. Mari­ne Tech­no­lo­gies – The art of engi­nee­ring in syn­er­gy with natu­ral sciences
    Ses­si­on chair: chai­red by Sebas­ti­an Rakers (EMB Fraun­ho­fer), spon­so­red by SubCTech
  6. DSM Oce­an of diver­si­ty: From micro sca­les to macro results
    Ses­si­on chairs: Paul Bey­ers­mann (ICBM Olden­burg) and Oli­ver Lech­ten­feld (AWI)